Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

ArtsReviews's podcast

Art's Reviews

Nov 19, 2014

Ian Watson graces us with his presence from the UK and we talk about his what's old, what's new and what is yet to come.  We highlight his most recent book "Sir Mumphrey Wilton and the Lost City of Mystery" and the soon to be published "The Trans-Dimentional Transport Company."  Neverthe less we talk of many things: Byzantium, Robin Hood, "Where Stories Dwell,"and a great deal more!


Amazon's I. A. Watson Page


Sir Mumphery at Amazon


A full list of I.A Watson’s publications, plus some free stories and accompanying material, is available at


Recent works include:



It’s hard to find a job these days.

Art Ellswift was dumb enough and desperate enough to answer a tattered add in a backstreet newsagent for an all-purpose delivery boy.

It didn’t mention the dimensional travel.

Or the killer robots.

Or the mad scientists.

Or the alien invaders.

Or the exploding hippos.

It somehow failed to mention that saving the world was also in the job description.

Somewhere around page seven.


Luckily it was only a short term contract.

Nobody yet has survived to get a long one!


“The Transdimensional Transport Company”

coming end November from Chillwater Press



When the law no longer serves justice, justice must be an outlaw.

By winter of 1191 King Richard the Lionheart was eighteen months gone from England on crusade. Those noble counsellors he’d left to administer his kingdom had squabbled then warred with each other while Richard’s younger brother and heir, Prince John “Lackland”, fanned the conflict. Armed barons and rich office-holders took advantage of the times to do whatsoever they pleased.

Yet there was resistance. Men without rights or liberty whispered that in deep Sherwood Forest a company of free outlaws robbed from the rich and gave to the poor, mocking the powerful and bringing hope to the powerless. The cruel Sheriff of Nottingham was unable to catch them. Mighty Prince John had nightmares about them. Secret stories were told of these men, and wheresoever these outlaw tales were spoken rebellion flourished.

It was forbidden to speak of Robin Hood, yet everyone knew his name.


"Robin Hood: Freedom's Outlaw"
ISBN-10: 0692317759
ISBN-13: 978-0692317754
Published by Airship 27
Release date: October 2014
Retail Price: $16.14
Kindle Edition available
$3 e-version also available at
The Airship 27 Hangar



A desperate young woman must decode her murdered father’s journal...
Impossible Nazi supermen hunt her across the globe...
Ghouls haunt the subways of New York City...
A forbidden sect exploits the fall of Hong Kong...
A vampire stalks war-battered Malta’s crowded refugee tunnels...
Ancient apes speak in the language of the gods...
A mysterious pocketwatch alters time itself...
This must be a case for SIR MUMPHREY WILTON, gentleman troubleshooter, ever-ready to smite the ungodly and save the day – if he can survive that long!


"Sir Mumphrey Wilton and the Lost City of Mystery"
ISBN-10: 1502438488
ISBN-13: 978-1502438485
Published by Chillwater Press
Release date: October 2014
Retail Price: $13.50 from
Kindle Edition available



WHERE STORIES DWELL a collection of essays on tales and telling them by I.A. Watson. Starring: The Duke of Marlborough, swashbuckler, soldier, adventurer, and ladies' man; Medea of Colchis, seductive sorceress and woman scorned; Eleanor of Aquitaine, the most powerful woman in Europe; Brutus Giantslayer, who overcame Gog and Magog to found a nation; William Paget, Earl of Uxbridge, and especially his right leg; Princess Enheduanna, High Priestess of the Moon Goddess Nanna; William the Conqueror, a bastard by name, birth, and nature; Sir Francis Dashwood, wicked master of the wicked Hell Fire Club; King Arthur Pendragon, rightwise born King of All Britain; Kings Henry II, IV, V, and VIII, who average to King Henry IV¾, plus a guest Edward; Rhodopis of the Stolen Slipper, a damsel in distress with familiar problems; Acting Major William Martin, a Royal Marine who died before he was ever born; Inspector-General James Barry MD, a military surgeon who never existed at all; Spring-Heeled Jack, fire-breathing iron-clawed terror of the night; The Lone Ranger and Tonto; with a full cast of gods, monarchs, smiths, Celts, Hussites, supervillains, sacrificial virgins, Londoners, knights, heretics, lighthouse-keepers, Methodists, spectral hounds, Loathly Ladies, pulp writers, revolutionaries, spies, and souvenir-vendors to match all tastes.

Sample chapters available here

"Where Stories Dwell"
ISBN-10: 1500666173
ISBN-13: 9781500666170
Published by Pro Se Press
Release date: July 2014
Retail Price: $15.00
Kindle Edition available



BYZANTIUM: DEAD MAN'S ROAD leads readers into a world of history of fantasy, one marred with magic, monsters, and mystery in volume one of I.A. Watson's original Pro Se Single Shot Signatures Series novellas.

In a world where Christianity never arose to sweep away the old magics, where sorcerer-guilds and necromancer-kings rule amidst the Roman ruins, Kirkgrim the Wanderer joins a caravan train across war-torn wasteland to the world's most corrupt city. The reluctant hero finds himself trapped with travelers, refugee orphans, deserter soldiers, a beautiful hunted sorceress, and one mad Viking, amidst civil war, religious zealots, brutal reavers, and a growing zombie army - guarding a secret that could bring the last vestiges of civilization crashing down in flames.

In Byzantium Book One: Dead Men’s Road, a beautiful woman tasked with delivering a sealed package to the Invisible College in Byzantium is pursued by merciless bandits, relentless undead, and a charming scoundrel who has nothing to lose.


"Byzantium: Dead Man's Road"
Published by Pro Se Press
Release date: July 2014
Retail Price: $0.99 Kindle Edition only




The adventures of Hawkeye, Uncas, and Chingatchgook in the year before James Fennimore Cooper’s Last of the Mohicans, brought to life by four of the most celebrated names in adventure storytelling.

I.A. Watson's story, "The Fort of Skulls" sends the pathfinders east into brooding Miscatonic County – H.P. Lovecraft country – where a Redcoat stronghold has been built upon a burial ground of the extinct Misquas tribe. But when the trackers arrive with reinforcements for the troubled fort they find it deserted, save for an unknown intruder who leaves the flayed heads of his enemies for his next victims to find!

"Pride of the Mohicans"
ISBN-10: 0692202358
ISBN-13: 978-0692202357
Published by White Rocket
Release date: April 2014
Retail Price: $15.95 or less
Available from
Kindle Edition also available